The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) World Heritage Sites are places of importance to cultural or natural heritage as described in the UNESCO World Heritage Convention, established in 1972. Iran accepted the convention on 26 February 1975, making its historical sites eligible for inclusion on the list. As of 2018, twenty-four sites in Iran are included.

The first three sites in Iran, Meidan Emam, Isfahan, Persepolis and Tchogha Zanbil, were inscribed on the list at the 3rd Session of the World Heritage Committee, held in Paris, France in 1979. They remained the Islamic Republic’s only listed properties until 2003, when Takht-e Soleyman was added to the list. The latest addition was The Sassanid Archaeological Landscape, inscribed in 2018.

World Heritage Sites within Iran

Cultural & Natural

Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran (2008)

Bam and its Cultural Landscape (2004)

Bisotun (2006)

Golestan Palace (2013)

Gonbad-e Qābus (2012)

Cultural Landscape of Maymand (2015)

Historic City of Yazd (2017)

Masjed-e Jāmé of Isfahan (2012)

Meidan Emam, Isfahan (1979)

Pasargadae (2004)

Persepolis (1979)

Sassanid Archaeological Landscape of Fars Region (2018)

Shahr-i Sokhta (2014)

Sheikh Safi al-din Khānegāh and Shrine Ensemble in Ardabil (2010)

Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System (2009)

Soltaniyeh (2005)

Susa (2015)

Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex (2010)

Takht-e Soleyman (2003)

Chogha Zanbil (1979)

The Persian Garden (2011)

The Persian Qanat (2016)

Hyrcanian Forests (2019)

Lut Desert (2016)

Hi. Welcome to ‘My Amazing Iran’

Join us and download ‘My Amazing Iran’ in addition to monthly updates about new travel stories, tips, and more importantly, our special offers.